The Hopper Lane is situated in the picturesque Washburn Valley and is known to date back to 1771 it was used as a posting house and old pictures show that stage coaches stopped here for refreshments.
The name Blubberhouses was thought to come from its apprentice houses, one for girls and one for boys) where children as young as 9 came from as far afield as London to live and work in the flax Mills in the early 1800s.
Blubberhouses was a thriving community and had a joiners shop, a grocery shop, post office, mills, two pubs, churches and a school. The community was boosted in the 1800s when the Navvies came to build three reservoirs; Fewston, Swinsty and Lindley. The fourth reservoir, Thruscross, was completed later in the 1960s.
From the early 1900s it was the custom for local farmers to gather here every half year to pay their rent and enjoy a meal at the landowners expense. Over its history, the Hoer Lane has undergone lots of changes and refurbishments; many landlords and local characters have been and gone. However the character of the original building remains and an old well can sll be seen in the pub.
Today the Hopper is a family business owned and run by the Dibbs who have lived and farmed in the Washburn Valley for the last 600 years. Some well remembered Dibbs were Ruth & Bolland Dibb who lived in the valley from the early 1900s. Ruth Dibb, who was locally known as Grannie Dibb, was famous for providing large groups of walkers with home cooked teas and refreshments from their farmhouse which was called Washburn Farm.